Justified and Crazy (J.C.)

Fresh off the streetcar at Yonge and Dundas streets, I mounted my long range lens so that I could shoot anonymously from afar. Immediately I felt guilty for shooting this way and kept thinking over and over again that something different needed to happen. My initial nervousness changed quickly when I came walking back down the street and this gentleman smiled and say ‘hi’ to me. I returned with a ‘Merry Christmas’ he laughed and said ‘Oh, so that’s what all of this is about!’, he also ribbed me for shooting him from across the street.

J.C. is his name, short for Justified and Crazy. He is 66 years old and has spent 47 years on the streets of Vancouver, Montreal with his last stop being Toronto. I got to know some of what he has seen, one can only imagine what his eyes and heart have experienced during his time. He is a self proclaimed ‘Non Profit Social Worker’ of the streets. I am thankful that J.C. was my first capture as his wisdom and advice helped me overcome my initial fears, I put away my long range lens and mounted my short range lens to stay close. From here on in, I would get to know the first hand stories of some very wonderful people.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

