Revenant Flight

I have had a bit of a hiatus as the weather has been terrible over the last few weeks preventing me from getting interesting themes or shots. The weather held for an evening while I went to the Canadian National Exhibition in Toronto for a night time shoot of the carnival midway. Also thanks to my buddy Alex for suggesting the run too.ย  Carnivals or fairs are usually best known for their fantastic colours, challenging for a photographer that only releases monochrome imagery. I am happy with the captures I have gotten on this evening and excited to share them.

This shot, people on a turning swing, I wanted them to appear that they were on their own flight path without the guidance of mechanics, I happened to luck out with this subject spreading his wings for the flight. One small detail makes an entire photograph. Keep an eye out for the rest of the series.

Derek Shanks Photography

