Chasing the Storm

Two days in a row in hopes of capturing lightning for my shots proved unsuccesful and one very extraordinarily wet photographer. Just before this shot was captured the storm front had moved in quickly and while standing on the beach without cover, the winds picked up and what felt like a dump truck of water was thrown at me. I haven’t ever been this soggy and squishy before during a shoot.

I came upon this scene and wanted the long exposure of the storm front to give and eerie effect to the boat. The water was really moving quickly with the wind and I got the shot I was hoping for. Now I am sitting back in warm dry clothes with a coffee and sore muscles from being so heavily weighed down by the wet clothes. Oh the things I do to capture my images!!

Derek Shanks Photography

