Fragile Silence

I met with Kelli yesterday to attempt another long exposure shoot at a location that I admired in the Queen’s Quay area along the Toronto Harbourfront. The name I badge my collection under very well describes the fragility of life, the landscapes and the environment in general. 

I am always one to be skeptical of my scenes remaining intact but was sadly dissappointed when I arrived to find the tree had been badly damaged and toppled over. I caught one of my personal favourite images of this scene and some may recognize it from one of my earliest posts. In a fraction of time in the tree’s total life span I probably captured one of the last photographs of this wonderful scene.

The evolving land and the world around me is mysterious from behind the lens because I always wonder if the scene will remain untouched or unchanged or if I documented its last moment of glory.

Derek Shanks Photography

